School Logo

Great Harwood St John's

CE Primary School

back calendar close down-arrow email facebook instagram map noticeboard phone search translate twitter bell gm-boy zigzag gm-boy-home gm-girl landing-girl landing-boy welcome-boy useful-links-girl-home gm-girl-home useful-links-girl
School Logo

Great Harwood St John's

CE Primary School


Just like every school, we have a group of volunteers who form our Governing Body. We have several kinds of governors determined by how they are elected to their role.


Foundation Governors are appointed by the Parish and Diocese, we have a number of vacancies for these positions - please see Reverend Birch if you would like to apply, alternatively ask Miss Parker about it. 


Parent Governors are elected by our parents.


Staff Governors, (this includes the Head and a teacher), are either elected, or in the case of the Head, given a place due to their post.


Local Authority Governors are nominated by, in our case, Lancashire County Council.


Governors meet each term to discuss matters affecting the school.  They meet as both small committees, which oversee the buildings, finance, staffing and curriculum and as a full body.


Currently, our Governing Body is made up of the following people:


Foundation Governors

Mrs Julie Molinuex (Vice Chair) 

Mrs Linda Holden

Mr Mohammed Shazad

Mrs Louise Howorth





Parent Governors

Mr Carl Morris (Chair)

Mr Farqan Amin


Church Governor 

Graham Birch 


Local Authority Governor

Mr Ian Holden 


Staff Governors

Miss Tracey Parker

Miss Debbie Newton



Mrs Donna Hoyle 

Mrs Katie Smith 


Visit Our School