School Logo

Great Harwood St John's

CE Primary School

back calendar close down-arrow email facebook instagram map noticeboard phone search translate twitter bell gm-boy zigzag gm-boy-home gm-girl landing-girl landing-boy welcome-boy useful-links-girl-home gm-girl-home useful-links-girl
School Logo

Great Harwood St John's

CE Primary School


Welcome to our

Foundation Stage Class!


We are the 



Our teacher is Mrs. Gawthorpe

Our Teaching Assistants are Mrs. Threlfall and Mrs. Jackson


            Online Reading Scheme                   Purple Mash

                                     Purple Mash


Please click on the pictures and they will take you to your login page for our Bug Club online reading scheme or Purple Mash.

Each child has their own login and password for each site. If you cannot find them, please ask Mrs Gawthorpe.


Purple Mash - Robins (EYFS) go to Mini Mash or complete the set activities on the alerts


Our BRAND NEW CLIMBING FRAME :) We have been very fortunate to have this built in our outdoor learning area. It will be a huge boost to the children's physical development skills.


Summer 2 - Ahoy There!

This half term our topic is 'Ahoy There!'. In English, we will be learning to make predictions, creating our own exciting story maps and writing stories using full sentences. We will also investigate rhyming words using seaside poems. There might even be some naughty pirates involved!


In mathematics we will be practising measuring length, height, capacity, weight and mass using different equipment. We will also be exploring position and direction using the Bee-bots. 


In our topic work we will be exploring the seaside and the different sea creatures living in the sea and on the beach. We will be making lots of exciting art work and using our DT skills to design our very own 3D puffer fish!




Click on the stars to see what we have been learning

(Summer 1 - Into the Wild!)

Important Information




Early reading is so important, it helps to improve children's language and communication skills. Children love to listen to and read stories developing their imagination and creativity along the way.

Please read with your child 4 times a week and sign their reading record. All children will be treated to an exciting party afternoon for all of their reading efforts.



Reading Books

Books will be changed on a Monday, Wednesday and Friday if your child has read at home. We require children to read at home at 4 times a week. If your child does this they will move up the reading chart and earn rewards. They will also be able to attend our brilliant reading party at the end of each half term! As a school, we have purchased the 'Bug Club' online reading scheme for children to use at home. Each child has their own username and password to log on to the site. Please click on the 'Bug Club' link/ icon at the top of our class page. 




If your child wears earrings, please make sure that they are removed before school on a Wednesday otherwise they will not be able to take part. Please can you also make sure your child brings their PE bag into school for the beginning of each half term.


Snack Money


Please remember to bring £1 in to school on Monday for snack



                 Toast with butter or jam



                 Fruit cocktail

               Jam tarts


                   Homemade cakes and biscuits

                   Vegetable sticks and dips

                    Poppadoms and homemade salsa

                Prawn Crackers

               Rice Pudding






                I wonder what will be on the menu this week?


The Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage (Revised in 2014) is the period of education from birth to five years. During the Reception class the children work towards the early learning goals. Most children are expected to achieve the early learning goals by the end of the Foundation Stage.

There is a strong emphasis on learning through play, both child initiated and planned play. The curriculum is delivered through a combination of whole class activities, adult led activities and child initiated activities.


What are the 7 areas of learning and development?


Within the Reception class, children work towards the 'early learning goals! The majority of pupils will achieve these goals by the end of the Foundation Stage. Some children will make further progress and some pupils may still need to work towards some of the goals at the end of Reception in year 1.

The Early Years Foundation Stage statutory framework divides learning and development into 7 areas of Learning and Development. These are divided into two categories, Prime areas and Specific areas. The prime areas of Learning remain at the heart of all learning and development in our Foundation unit. The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for our children that allow them to participate and thrive at our school.       



Visit Our School